Found in Contempt of Court means a judge or referee has determined the parent intentionally failed to pay support. Contempt of court can lead to jail time, fines, license suspension, and an order to complete work activities. Child Support is required to maintain a list of parents who owe past-due support and have been found in contempt of court in North Dakota.
Parents found in Contempt of Court
The amount listed is the amount past-due at the time the parent was found in contempt of court.
The names on the list are updated weekly.
Parents on the list who no longer owe past-due support should contact Child Support to have your name removed.
Criminal Nonpayment - A parent who willfully fails to pay child support can be prosecuted in a North Dakota court for criminal nonpayment of support. Criminal nonpayment of child support can be a Class C felony, which has a maximum punishment of 5 years in prison, a fine of $5,000, or both.
Parents Found Guilty of Criminal Nonpayment of Child Support in a North Dakota Court
Federal Criminal Nonpayment - A parent who willfully fails to pay support for a child who lives in a state other than where the parent who owes support lives can be prosecuted in federal court for criminal nonpayment of support. Depending on how long the obligation has remained unpaid or the amount of the past-due support, the parent found guilty of federal criminal nonpayment may be fined, sentenced to prison for up to 2 years , or both.
Parents with North Dakota Cases Found Guilty of Criminal Nonpayment of Child Support in Federal Court